Easy server management with EHCP

Server administration is a pain in the a** to deal with, at least it is for me. For the production deployments that I work on, we usually use a deticated server with CentOS installed along with CPanel , which I must say works quite well. At least I have never had any problems with the CentOS/CPanel combination. However, I also use a bunch of vservers for testing and development purposes. These usually have the ubuntu server edition installed, since ubuntu just offers most software/tools in its repositories than any other linux distribution.

A couple of weeks ago, I wanted to set up a new development server for another side project, which by default had the “Froxlor” server control panel installed. This thing was as buggy as it gets. I found my self setting up a couple of vhosts, fixing postfix and some other annoying stuff for a couple of hours until I had enough.

I then started to look for a rather simple server control panel: easy to set up and of course easy to use. Needless to say, I found it:

EHCP stands for “Easy hosting control panel” and as the name suggests, it is quite easy, just works and in addition – it gives me all the features, that I need :).

Installation

1.) Donwload EHCP

$ http://www.ehcp.net/ehcp_latest.tgz

2.) Extract EHCP

$ tar -zxvf ehcp_latest.tgz

3.) Move to the EHCP directory

$ cd ehcp

4.) Start the installer

$ ./install.sh

Thats it! The installer will guide you through the installtion –> eezy peezy japanesey. Happy coding!

Leave a comment